Australia vs South Africa Rugby

Boks-Wallabies to conclude Rugby Champs

The Springboks have been named to play Australia on 14 November in a revised Rugby Championship schedule released on Thursday.

Sanzaar and tournament hosts Rugby Australia announced on Thursday that the 12-match tournament will now be played across seven weeks with Australia’s clash with New Zealand moved from 12 December to 31 October at Sydney’s ANZ Stadium.

South Africa’s Test against Argentina on 12 December has been moved to Newcastle’s McDonald Jones Stadium to close out the tournament.

The remainder of the draw is otherwise unchanged with five straight weeks of double-headers beginning at Brisbane’s Suncorp Stadium on Saturday, 7 November. Kick-off times have also been confirmed.

Despite the fact SA Rugby has yet to confirm the Springboks’ participation, Sanzaar’s statement suggested ‘the Springboks are set to play for the first time since they became world champions at the World Cup in Japan last year when they face Argentina on match-day two. Saturday, 7 November will also mark the first time that tier-one nations will have ever faced off in a Test match double-header’.

Sanzaar CEO Andy Marinos said: ‘The opening of the travel bubble between Australia and New Zealand from New Zealand and an agreement by the parties on revised commercial outcomes have enabled the joint venture to consider alternative solutions in addressing our two key objectives of commercial viability and player welfare.

Revised draw for The Rugby Championship 2020

Match-day three – Saturday, 14 November
Bankwest Stadium, Sydney
19:45 AEDT – South Africa vs Australia

Match-day six – Saturday, 5 December
Bankwest Stadium, Sydney
19:45 AEDT – Australia vs South Africa


Exit mobile version